The History of Elliot High School
Elliot (population 295) is located in east central Illinois in the south
central portion of Ford County. Illinois Route 9 is the main roadway to and from Elliot as it passes by the small village
to the south. County Road N. 1000 E, also known as County Highway 4, travels through the heart of Elliot from the north to
south. Elliot is located about 5 miles due east of Gibson City and about 25 miles due north of Champaign.
Elliot is named after the primary donor of the land the town is located
on, Samuel Elliot. The village was established in 1865. A railroad depot was constructed in 1872 and the
village at that time was filled various businesses and was very self-supporting.
The businesses in Elliot included a school house. The first school in Elliot was a two-room frame structure
for grades 1 - 8. According to a newspaper article submitted by Elliot school offered two years of high school
with the first graduation for the school taking place in 1898. The Elliot school building burnt to the ground in 1912 and
was soon replaced by a new, brick school building in 1922. It is unknown when the high school courses offered at Elliot were
discontinued, however it is known that kids who wanted full 4-year high school education would have to continue at Gibson
City High School upon leaving the Elliot school. It is only known that the school offered classes for grades 1 - 8 as Elliot
School District #94. Additions were made to the original portion of the school in 1948 which included a gymnasium.