The History of Strasburg High School
Strasburg (population 603) is located in the lower eastern portion of Illinois about 15 miles north-northwest
of Effingham. This places Strasburg in eastern Shelby County. The town is situated on Illinois Route 32 about three
miles south of Illinois Route 16. Branches of the Richland Creek travel through the north and west sides of town.
Brad Friese provided the following historical information on Strasburg High School:
"Strasburg began a 2-year high school in 1906-1907, a 3-year school 1920-1921 and became a 4-year
high school in 1930-1931. A two-story brick school was built in 1925 and a gymnasium added in 1939. When
the gym was added it was named "Alfred Duling Gym" for a local blacksmith that had did alot of work for the town.
The last Strasburg High School class was the class of 1949-50. The building was used as the Strasburg
Grade School (1-6 grades) and Stewardson-Strasburg Junior High School (7-8 grades) until the spring of 1969. The building
was purchased by Youngcraft Cabinets and used as a cabinet shop for a few years and then converted into a night club named
"The Trestle". The building still stands, but has not been used for about six years."
It was in 1950 that the towns of Strasburg and Stewardson agreed to consolidate their educational efforts. The new district was named the Stewardson-Strasburg
Strasburg High School Quick Facts
Year opened: 1906
Year closed: 1950
Consolidated to: Stewardson-Strasburg
Strasburg HS team nickname: the "Cardinals"
SHS team colors:
Red & White
School Fight Song:
"Hail to Our Ole Team, Proud May She Be"
to the tune of "ANCHORS AWEIGH"
Words to the song are needed.