"Ever since the establishment
of Maria Immaculata Convent, the Motherhouse of the Sisters of Christian Charity, at Wilmette, more or less frequent applications
have been made for private and class lessons in various subjects. Music lessons, as well as private and class lessons in sewing
have been given since the beginning of 1917. In one or the other instance private instruction was given in academic and commercial
subjects. However, this arrangement did not prove practicable, and therefore it was discontinued.
There is no central Catholic
high school for girls between the Immaculata High School on Irving Park Boulevard, Chicago, and the Holy Child High School at Waukegan. St. Scholastica’s Academy and Marywood School at Evanston are boarding schools taking a high tuition, and therefore making it practically necessary for a
large percentage of the girls desiring high school education to attend the public high schools.
In the spring of 1923 the
need for a central Catholic Girls’ High School for the North Shore district began to be emphasized….On the evening
of May 10, Monsignor Kelley in company with Rev. F. Siedenburg, SJ, called at the Motherhouse saying he had been delegated
by the pastors of the surrounding parishes to ask whether we might be willing to conduct the high school. …Mother Hyacinth
had anticipated the situation, and had previously asked and received from Reverend Mother General permission to open a high
school in the north wing of the Motherhouse.
…it was further decided
to open with but two years of the high school course, the third and fourth years to be added in 1924 and 1925 respectively.
On June 10 it was published in the churches of the territory involved that instructions from the Chancery ordered the announcement
of the opening of Mallinckrodt High School for Girls in September; parents were urged to send their daughters to this school
which promised to be the best high school on the North Shore, if not in Chicago.
Arrangements were made
immediately to accommodate pupils of the I. and II. Year High School as well as of the first year of a two-year Commercial
On the feast of the Holy
Name of Mary, September 12, a High Mass marked the opening of the High School…
Number of pupils: 46
pupils registered for regular classes;
17 for Commercial,
5 for II. Year High and
24 for I. Year High
Sewing Department: 47 pupils
Music Department: 16 pupils
The Sewing and Music
Departments were opened October 17th. [there was a further note under “Rates” that stated the fee for
Sewing (if taken exclusive of the Regular Course), and a further note added: All Regular Students are encouraged to make Sewing an elective. If taken as such there
is no additional charge.
UNIFORMS: On November 12, the students wore their uniforms for the first time. The Winter Uniform is a one-piece box
plaited [sic] dress made of French navy blue serge, opening at the shoulders, to be slipped on over the head. Round neck and
square yoke bound with black silk braid. Inlaid pocket. Belt made of same material as dress, 2 buttons in front. The whole
set off prettily with white collar and cuffs edged with tatting. A long black silk tie. The Summer Uniform is an Alice blue
with tan collar and cuffs; otherwise similar to winter uniform.
Monday, June 15, 1925 witnessed the graduation of twelve Commercial students, the first to leave our school. Since
it had been planned that the first public commencement exercises should mark the graduation of the first High School class
and entertainment was given in honor of the Commercial graduates.
May 27, 1926 witnessed the graduation of the second class of Commercial students to leave The Mallinckrodt. There were
Tuesday, June 14th witnessed the first public commencement exercises of The Mallinckrodt, at which our first
fourth year Academic students were graduated. His Eminence, George Cardinal Mundelein, Archbishop of Chicago, honored the
occasion by being present…
One of the graduates
of this first class – Florence Faber – is now known as Sister Pierre Faber. She will be 100 years old in March,
2008, and lives at Sacred Heart Convent, Wilmette."
Part of a transcript
from a meeting states the reason for the closing of Mallinckrodt High School (in 1960): "Since
Mallinckrodt High School was originally opened only in response to the request of Cardinal Mundelein to provide a high school
for girls in the North Shore area, and since this need no longer exists [Regina Dominican H.S. had been built a half-mile
distant from MHS] and since our aspirancy has grown to the extent that school and living conditions on the novitiate side
are over-crowded, it was decided definitely to close the day school for girls in a year or two. This will free the Mallinckrodt
classrooms for our aspirants and make it possible to expand our Mallinckrodt College facilities."
The Mallinckrodt building
is still intact today and even used as condominums that are called "Mallinckrodt in the Park."