"In the early thirty's (1830s) soon after the first steamboats began to ply the
river George Frederick Jonte and Frederick Merchant, two Frenchmen located on section 17, in Frederick Township and decided
to found a city that would be the shipping point for all the rich inland country to the north and west.
Allen Persinger was employed to plat the town, which he did May 12 and 13, 1836,
and in honor of its founders it was named Fredricksville, and is so recorded on the Court Records but the United States Post
Office department in 1892, shortened its name to the name of Frederick."
The webpage also lists the following history of the school system in Frederick:
"The first school in Frederick was held in a private cabin built by Horatio Benton
in 1845. The first school house was built in 1846, a small one-story frame building which was afterwards used as the town
In 1871, a two story brick school building was erected which burned down in 1929.
The present school building was built in 1929 and was nearly completed when the old one burned down."
Further information on the town of Frederick can be viewed at http://www.rootsweb.com/~ilschuyl/Fredericksville.html
Frederick residents started a two-year high school for their children in 1927. This school served the town through
the mid-1940s. It is believed by former student George C. Egbert that Frederick High School closed
in 1944. The high school building today is used as a living quarters or private residence.